Skip to main content

Project Directors

Mary Flanagan, Tiltfactor Laboratory Dartmouth College
Peter Carini, Rauner Library Dartmouth College

Partners and Collaborators

(in alphabetical order)
American Antiquarian Society
Boston Public Library
British Library
Dartmouth College – Rauner Library
Open Parks Network (Clemson University)
Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute Library
University at Buffalo Library
University of California – Irvine Library
University of California – Los Angeles – Chicano Studies Research Center
University of Edinburgh – Library and University Collections
Worcester Polytechnic Institute Library
Yale University Library

Many thanks to Participants, Friends, and Associates:

(in alphabetical order)
Chris Adams, Library of Congress
Shaun Akhtar, Cataloging and Metadata Specialist, Dartmouth College
Eric Bivona, Programmer, Digital Library Technology Group, Dartmouth College
Jessica Branco Colati, Digital Initiatives Librarian, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Dan Cohen, Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Kristy Dixon, Digital Projects and Metadata at Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University
Molly Hardy, Digital Humanities Curator, American Antiquarian Society
Claire Knowles, Library Digital Development Manager, Library and University Collections, University of Edinburgh
Shu Liu, Metadata and Digital Resources Librarian, University of California – Irvine
Mark Ludwig, Director, Research Systems Development, University at Buffalo
Brian Maher, Systems Engineer & Senior Programmer, Entertainment Technology Center, Carnegie Mellon University
Matthew McKinley, Digital Library Specialist, University of California-Irvine
Anne Posega, Head of Archives & Special Collections, Washington University – St. Louis
Elena Sergeyevna Rishes, Graduate Student, Department of Computer Science, University of California – Santa Cruz
Scott Renton, Systems Developer, Library & University Collections, University of Edinburgh
Amy Rudersdorf, DPLA
Ed Summers, Library of Congress
Chris Thatcher, Library of Congress
Mark Vega, Web Services Programmer, University of California – Irvine
Marilyn Walker, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of California – Santa Cruz
Gavin Willshaw, Digital Curator, Library and University Collections, University of Edinburgh
Vicky Zeamer, Undergraduate student, Dartmouth and Wellesley College

Project Manager

Sukdith Punjasthitkul


Geoff Kaufman
Jordan Carpenter
Christina Manzo
Sukdith Punjasthitkul


Vincent Van Uffelen
Panaton Inc.
Junjie Guan
Xinqi Li
Gareth Solbeck
Anup Dhamala
Sukdith Punjasthitkul
Robinson Tyron

Game Programming

One Up, Pyramid Tag: Panaton Inc., Junjie Guan, Anup Dhamala, Sukdith Punjasthitkul
Stupid Robot: Junjie Guan, Zara Downs, Xinqi Li, Gareth Solbeck, Sukdith Punjasthitkul
British Library Ships Tag, Portrait Tag, Book Tag: Modality

Game Design

Mary Flanagan
Zara Downs
Max Seidman
Sukdith Punjasthitkul

Graphic Design (British Library Ships Tag, Portrait Tag, Book Tag)

Nook Harquail
Winnie Yoe

System Administration

Robinson Tryon
John Wallace
Joe Hill
Sukdith Punjasthtikul

Usability (Stupid Robot)

Liza Pesenson

Supported By

American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
The Neukom Institute

Metadata Games Alums, Charlie Whitney, Cecile Williams, Joshua Weinberg, Linden Vongsathorn, Brendan Scully, Cole Ott, Mike Pettinicchio, Sean Dunten, Joshua Shaw, Erika Murillo, Viviana Ramos, Robert McAvinue, Edward del Rosario, Rose Flanagan, Derrick Smith, Nick and Tina Moschella, Courtney Hook, Mehta and Isara Punjasthitkul, Nick Sinnott-Armstrong, Matt Geer, Rebekah Scott, Leah Nicolich-Henkin, Jack Litherland, Alicia Driscoll, and everyone else who has tagged an image or six. Thank you!

Advisory Board

Peter Asaro – Assistant Professor and Director of Graduate Programs, School of Media Studies, The New School for Public Engagement
Tom Blake – Digital Projects Manager, Boston Public Library
Brian Brantner – Computer Scientist at Adobe Systems
Ruth Catlow – Head of School of Design, Writtle School of Design
Drew Davidson – Entertainment Technology Center Program Director and Teaching Professor, Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University
Tracy Fullerton – Associate Professor and Chair, USC School of Cinematic Arts, Interactive Media Division; Director, Electronic Arts Game Innovation Lab; and EA Endowed Chair in Interactive Entertainment
Lindsay Gupton – Vice-President of Studios, Foundation 9 Entertainment
Michael Mateas – Professor and Director of the Center for Games and Playable Media, Department of Computer Science, University of California, Santa Cruz
Trevor Owens – Digital Archivist, National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program, Library of Congress
Celia Pearce – Director and Associate Professor, Experimental Game Lab, School of Literature, Communication & Culture, Georgia Institute of Technology
Lacy Schutz – Director of Collections, Museum of the City of New York
Ben Vershbow – Manager, NYPL Labs, New York Public Library